The William Kingdon CLIFFORD Prize



The W.K. Clifford Prize is an international scientific prize for young researchers. The prize intends to encourage young researchers to compete for excellence in their research in theoretical and applied Clifford algebras, their analysis and geometry. Moreover, the award should promote solid research and thereby positively raise the profile of the Clifford community in mathematics, physics and the applied sciences.

The W.K. Clifford Prize was instituted in 2011 by the Advisory Board of the International Conference on Clifford Algebras and Their Applications in Mathematical Physics (ICCA), and is awarded each three years at the occasion of an ICCA Conference.





The series of conferences “International Conference on Clifford Algebras and Their Applications in Mathematical Physics” was initiated in 1985 by John Stephen Roy Chisholm (1926-2015) of the University of Kent at Canterbury. These ICCA conferences, organized alternately in Europe and the Americas, are intended to bring together the leading scientists and young researchers in the field of Clifford algebras and their various applications in mathematics, physics, engineering, and other applied sciences. The English mathematician and philosopher William Kingdon Clifford is best remembered for his geometric algebras, nowadays better known in mathematics as Clifford algebras, named so in his honour, but he also contributed significantly to other branches of mathematics, especially geometry.

The idea for a W.K. Clifford Prize was already born in 2002 at the Cookeville ICCA6 conference and was revived in 2011 by discussions mainly within the Advisory Board of ICCA. The first W.K. Clifford Prize was awarded in July 2011 at the occasion of the ICCA9 Conference in Weimar (Germany).





The Award consists of

(i) a written certificate,

(ii) a cash award of € 1000,

(iii) a one year online access to the Clifford algebra related journals: Advances in Applied Clifford Algebras, and Complex Analysis and Operator Theory, and

(iv) a book token worth € 150.


An award ceremony is organized during the ICCA conference, with an honorary speech by the Chairman of the ICCA Advisory Board enlightening the merits of the awardee. The awardee is invited to give a special plenary lecture.


The Prize Winner is also offered the opportunity to give, in the months following the award ceremony, the special W.K. Clifford Prize Lecture at University College London, where W.K. Clifford held the first Goldsmid Chair from 1871 until his untimely death in 1879.





• The ICCA Conference fees


• The local sponsors of the ICCA conference


• Birkhäuser / Springer Basel AG

Thomas Hempfling, General Manager, Executive Editor, Mathematics, Birkhäuser / Springer Basel AG

P.O. Box 133, CH 4010 Basel, Switzerland


• University College London, Department of Mathematics

Robb McDonald, Head of Department, Department of Mathematics, University College London, 25 Gordon Street, London WC1H 0AY


William Kingdon Clifford (1845-1879)

The Laureates

2011 Weimar

Hendrik De Bie

Ghent University - Belgium


2014 Tartu

David Eelbode

University of Antwerp - Belgium


2017 Gent

David Kimsey

Newcastle University - UK


The 2017 Jury



E. Bayro-Corrochano

CINVESTAV, Guadalajara, Mexico


H. De Schepper

Ghent University, Belgium


L. Dorst

University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands


D. Eelbode

University of Antwerp, Belgium


K. Gürlebeck

Bauhaus Universität, Weimar, Germany


N. Marchuk

Steklov Mathematical Institute RAS, Russia


T. Qian

University of Macau, China


I. Sabadini

Politecnico di Milano, Italy


V. Soucek

Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic


S. Staples

Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, USA


J. Tolksdorf

Max Planck Inst. for Math. in the Sci., Leipzig


Secretary: H. De Bie

Ghent University, Belgium


Former Jury members

R. Ablamovicz

V. Abramov

P. Anglès

F. Brackx

R. Da Rocha

H. De Bie

D. Hildenbrand

E. Hitzer

J. Lasenby

W. A. Rodrigues