2014 Tartu Laureate

Tartu, Restaurant Atlantis

06 August 2014


l.t.r. E. Hitzer, Th. Hempfling, V. Abramov, D. Eelbode

The Laureate 2014 --- ICCA10 Tartu


David Eelbode of the University of Antwerp (Belgium) has been selected as the recipient of the second W.K. Clifford Prize, for his outstanding mathematical research achievements in the fields of harmonic and Clifford analysis with applications in theoretical physics. He received his Ph.D. from Ghent University with a thesis titled “Clifford analysis on the hyperbolic unit ball” (supervisor Franciscus Sommen). He has a beautiful and remarkable publishing record with papers in pure mathematics and theoretical physics journals. His chief contribution has to be situated within the subject of higher spin operators: these are generalizations of the classical Dirac operator from quantum mechanics, which can be used to model the equations describing higher spin elementary particles. The use of Clifford analysis techniques hereby has the advantage that the resulting function theory can be studied in orthogonal spaces of any dimension and any signature. This topic is also intimately connected to the representation theory for both the conformal Lie algebra and certain transvector algebras. Often co-operating with mathematics centers of excellence around the world, he is a real ambassador for mathematics through Clifford algebra, Clifford analysis and group representation theory.


The W.K. Clifford Prize will be presented to David Eelbode at the ICCA10 conference at Tartu, 04-08 August 2014.


David Eelbode will give the second special W.K. Clifford Prize Lecture at University College London on November 7, 2014.

William Kingdon Clifford (1845-1879)

The Laureates

2011 Weimar

Hendrik De Bie

Ghent University - Belgium


2014 Tartu

David Eelbode

University of Antwerp - Belgium



The 2017 Jury



E. Bayro-Corrochano

CINVESTAV, Guadalajara, Mexico


H. De Schepper

Ghent University, Belgium


L. Dorst

University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands


D. Eelbode

University of Antwerp, Belgium


K. Gürlebeck

Bauhaus Universität, Weimar, Germany


N. Marchuk

Steklov Mathematical Institute RAS, Russia


T. Qian

University of Macau, China


I. Sabadini

Politecnico di Milano, Italy


V. Soucek

Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic


S. Staples

Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, USA


J. Tolksdorf

Max Planck Inst. for Math. in the Sci., Leipzig


Secretary: H. De Bie

Ghent University, Belgium


The William Kingdon CLIFFORD Prize

Former Jury members

R. Ablamovicz

V. Abramov

P. Anglès

F. Brackx

R. Da Rocha

H. De Bie

D. Hildenbrand

E. Hitzer

J. Lasenby

W. A. Rodrigues