2017 Gent Call for nominations

The William Kingdon CLIFFORD Prize

Nominations of candidates


Candidates for the W.K. Clifford Prize may be nominated by anyone, including the candidates themselves, but excluding the members of the jury. The age limit of the candidates is 35, the 35th birthday not having occurred before the 1st of January of the ICCA-year considered. A former W.K. Clifford Prize laureate cannot be nominated again.

Nomination is done by sending a nomination letter to the Secretary, together with the candidate’s CV, a description of his scientific work and main research contributions, a list of four referees, and a recommendation letter; this recommendation letter may be written by one of the referees on the aforementioned list. The nominating person, not being the candidate, may figure on this list of referees and, consequently, is also entitled to write the recommendation letter. Members of the jury cannot act as referee.



Nominations for the W.K. Clifford Prize - 2017 - ICCA 11 - Gent (Belgium) are due

30 September 2016.


Please send the necessary documents electronically to the Secretary H. De Bie at the following address: secretary@wkcliffordprize.org


William Kingdon Clifford (1845-1879)

The Laureates

2011 Weimar

Hendrik De Bie

Ghent University - Belgium


2014 Tartu

David Eelbode

University of Antwerp - Belgium


2017 Gent

David Kimsey

Newcastle University - UK


The 2017 Jury



E. Bayro-Corrochano

CINVESTAV, Guadalajara, Mexico


H. De Schepper

Ghent University, Belgium


L. Dorst

University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands


D. Eelbode

University of Antwerp, Belgium


K. Gürlebeck

Bauhaus Universität, Weimar, Germany


N. Marchuk

Steklov Mathematical Institute RAS, Russia


T. Qian

University of Macau, China


I. Sabadini

Politecnico di Milano, Italy


V. Soucek

Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic


S. Staples

Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, USA


J. Tolksdorf

Max Planck Inst. for Math. in the Sci., Leipzig


Secretary: H. De Bie

Ghent University, Belgium


Former Jury members

R. Ablamovicz

V. Abramov

P. Anglès

F. Brackx

R. Da Rocha

H. De Bie

D. Hildenbrand

E. Hitzer

J. Lasenby

W. A. Rodrigues