W. K. Clifford Prize Lecture 2014

Invitation to the


2nd W. K. Clifford Prize Lecture at UCL London



The Department of Mathematics of University College London honours the laureates of the W. K. Clifford Prize, by offering them the opportunity to deliver a special lecture.


William Kingdon Clifford worked from 1871 until his untimely death in 1879 as Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University College London, holding the Goldsmid Chair.


The W. K. Clifford Prize was instituted by the International Conference on Clifford Algebras and Their Applications in Mathematical Physics (ICCA). The second special lecture will be given by the 2014 Laureate David Eelbode from the University of Antwerp (Belgium).


Venue: Department of Mathematics, University College London, 25 Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT, Room 505 (5th floor).


Date: Friday, the 7th of November 2014.



4 pm: Welcome

4.20 pm: Opening session

R. McDonald (Head, Dept. of Mathematics, UCL): William K. Clifford and UCL

4.30 pm: 2nd W. K. Clifford Prize Winner Lecture

Chairman: W. Spröβig (University of Freiberg)

D. Eelbode: Higher Spin Clifford analysis

5.30 pm: Reception in room 502 offered by the Department of Mathematics UCL.


People who wish to attend the reception are kindly requested to register (until the 25th of October 2014) by sending an email message to F. Brackx fb@cage.ugent.be, Secretary of the W.K. Clifford Prize Committee.



The Dirac operator is a fundamental operator in quantum mechanics; it is used e.g. to describe the behavior of the relativistically moving electron. Whereas classical Clifford analysis has mostly been focusing on the function theory for the Dirac operator in arbitrary dimension, recent work has shown that Clifford analysis also offers an elegant and explicit framework to study similar questions for more general conformally invariant operators acting on functions taking values in arbitrary finite-dimensional irreducible representations for the spin group. An overview of this branch of Clifford analysis will be given, hereby focusing on construction, symmetry and solutions of the equations.


UCL London, 07 November 2014


R. McDonald, head of the Department of Mathematics

welcomes the audience

UCL London, 07 November 2014


D. Eelbode giving his

W. K. Clifford Prize Lecture

William Kingdon Clifford (1845-1879)

The Laureates

2011 Weimar

Hendrik De Bie

Ghent University - Belgium


2014 Tartu

David Eelbode

University of Antwerp - Belgium



The 2017 Jury



E. Bayro-Corrochano

CINVESTAV, Guadalajara, Mexico


H. De Schepper

Ghent University, Belgium


L. Dorst

University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands


D. Eelbode

University of Antwerp, Belgium


K. Gürlebeck

Bauhaus Universität, Weimar, Germany


N. Marchuk

Steklov Mathematical Institute RAS, Russia


T. Qian

University of Macau, China


I. Sabadini

Politecnico di Milano, Italy


V. Soucek

Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic


S. Staples

Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, USA


J. Tolksdorf

Max Planck Inst. for Math. in the Sci., Leipzig


Secretary: H. De Bie

Ghent University, Belgium


The William Kingdon CLIFFORD Prize

Former Jury members

R. Ablamovicz

V. Abramov

P. Anglès

F. Brackx

R. Da Rocha

H. De Bie

D. Hildenbrand

E. Hitzer

J. Lasenby

W. A. Rodrigues